How To Choose What Book To Read Next And Why It’s So Difficult Sometimes

What to Read Next

We all know that reading is an amazingly beneficial activity and many of us take it very seriously. Regardless of how organized we are, I am sure it happened to all of us to finish a book and just sit there wondering what to read next. 

Learning how to choose what book to read next is an important part of the reading experience and while it can sometimes be a challenge, there’s a couple of things you need to know in order to make these decisions quicker. 

Why is it difficult to choose what to read next?

There’s quite a big number of reasons why choosing your next book can be challenging. Knowing and understanding them is the first step on your way to finding ways of making this an easier task. Here are some of the most common reasons why you can’t choose what to read next immediately after finishing a book.

The book hangover

Finishing an amazing book can leave many of us devastated to a certain extent. Bookworms even have a term for it: book hangover. As its name suggests, the term is used to describe a lingering feeling a reader has after finishing a book, especially after reading an entertaining and engaging fiction novel. 

One of the symptoms of this book hangover is the fact that people continue thinking about the book they finished rendering them unable to even consider starting a new one. 

We get too invested in reading and always try to find a book that is better than the previous one

While using the term “addiction” may seem harsh in this context, reading can be somewhat addictive for those who fall in love with it. Being involved in an activity we enjoy leads our brain to release a dose of endorphins and serotonin, which are responsible for our moods and how happy we feel. And we all know that we are constantly chasing endorphins throughout our lives. 

This so-called addiction to reading (also known as Lesesucht- a German term that originally described a period in German history) can make it difficult for us to choose our next book and the reason is as obvious and logical as it gets. 

Each new book we choose to read is a new chase for the endorphins high we received from our previous one. Always putting pressure on this decision because of our desire to start a book that is at least as good as our previous one usually leaves us unable to decide what to read next. 

We are used to have mandatory reading lists from school

Let’s face it, for most of us, the reading we did as children or even teenagers was based on the mandatory reading lists we received from our school or high-school. That means that for more than a decade, our next book was usually dictated by a predefined list of titles we had no involvement in creating. 

Since our freedom in choosing our next book was limited to the order in which we read the books on the mandatory lists for so many years, it’s difficult for many of us to make the transition to complete freedom. And the result is clearly the inability of making a quick decision about our next read.

The number of titles available is huge

With a total of over 129 million books ever written and over 2 million new titles being published every year around the world, it’s easy to understand why sometimes choosing our next title can be difficult. 

This abundance of titles available can be overwhelming and, unless we find a way to organize our reading habits, this can lead to a very high difficulty of choosing what books to read next. 

Luckily, there are certain solutions for this problem and strategies we can apply to how we organize our reading in order to overcome this.

How to choose what book to read next?

Now that we understand why choosing our next book can be difficult, let’s see how we can make it less of a challenge and what we can do to make the transition from one book to another smoother.

Read books from the same author 

Everyone has their favorite author or even authors. Whether it’s their writing style, the way they build the action of a novel, the themes their books are about, something makes us resonate more with certain writers than we do with others.

As we read and our taste in books develops over time, we find these authors we resonate with. A good strategy for making it easier to choose what books to read next is to stick with the writers we love. When you find an author you like, simply organize your reading list to prioritize the books written by them.

A particularly useful tool for developing and applying this strategy is a reading app. Basmo, for example, allows you to perform searches by writer and once you do, the app displays all the books written by that particular author. Not only that, but by tapping on each book, you are given the option to add it to personalized reading lists.

Give Your Reading Experience
An Extra Boost With Basmo

Track the books you read, monitor the time you spend reading and keep notes on your reading habits and how it makes you feel. You can set yourself targets for the time you spend reading and you can get notified whenever you’re behind on your reading time. 

Download on the App Store
Get it on Google Play

Read books from or about the same period

While many of us love to read Sci-Fi books which contain detailed information about the author’s vision of the future ahead of us, others prefer to try and relive the past through the books they read.

Regardless of your preference, one of the strategic options you can make in order to achieve a smoother transition between books is to stick to the era you are most interested in. Whether it’s books written in the 1800s or about the 1800s, if you’re into medieval times, reading everything written in that period or about that period would be a great option for you.

Read books from the same genre

Another good option is to stick to a genre and read every book of that genre you can get your hands on. Find out what your preferences are by trying to read every genre there is, and once you’ve found your favorite, stick with it.

Do your own research to find titles that match your taste in books and start reading them all, one by one.

While this is not a completely foolproof strategy, because your taste will change over time or you will simply get bored of always reading thrillers for example, it is a pretty good starting point on your journey to improve the way you find what to read next.

Follow your instincts, read what your mood dictates

While the previous strategies gave you pretty clear instructions on what your strategy for choosing your next book could be, it is also important to go with your gut.

Many of us are ignoring our instincts or have lost our faith in them, and that is a mistake. Sometimes the best strategy is to simply read what you feel you should or what your mood dictates.

Even if you’ve chosen for example to organize your reading by genre, if you finish a love story and you feel you’re in the mood for a sci-fi book, go for it. Feel free to mix and match as you please when it comes to your reading.

Don’t be afraid to stop reading books you don’t like

Getting hung up o a book we don’t enjoy is not as uncommon as you might think. Probably also a result of our education which consisted of mandatory reading lists, this habit of forcing ourselves to finish even the books we hate can turn into a problem rather easily.

There are some books that are not our cup of tea and that is perfectly normal. There are other books that we dislike to such an extent that they can diminish our love of reading altogether. And that is a problem.

We will definitely have a hard time choosing our next book if the previous one made us question whether we should keep reading at all. Unless it’s mandatory, do not read books that bring you no pleasure. You’re better off leaving a book unfinished if you risk the alternative to be a complete halt of your reading habits.

Create a reading list

Like in most of the aspects of our lives, being organized has a positive effect on your reading habits as well. And creating lists is one of the best ways to get things in order whether it’s daily house chores, tasks you need to do at work or the books you read.

Having one or even more reading lists can take the guessing game out of the equation when it comes to what books you will read after finishing your current one. You can organize your lists by author, genre, time period the action is taking place or even your moods (create lists of books you like to read when you’re happy, lists of books you like to read when you’re sad and so on).

While creating a reading list isn’t a tough task in itself, you’ll be happy to know that reading apps can make it even easier and more effective. 

How can Basmo help you choose your next book

As mentioned above, reading apps are tiny wizards you can install on your phone and they will act as your personal assistants in all aspects of your reading habits. While this isn’t even close to being all a reading app can do for you, here’s a quick recap of some of the features that will help you most with the dilemma of how to choose a book to read.

Author search

By allowing you to perform searches both by book name and author, Basmo makes your life a lot easier if you decide to start reading all, or the most popular books written by your favorite author. As I said, this strategy is a great way of eliminating any worries about what you should read next. 

Creating reading lists

Instead of having hand-written lists all around your house, which can easily be lost or damaged, why wouldn’t you choose to go the digital way and have them safely stored on your phone?

Basmo allows you to easily create, populate and organize your reading lists and name them according to their primary characteristics, which makes it a lot easier for you to locate that particular list you want your next book to come from, or the list you just thought of a book to populate it with.

To create a new reading list with Basmo, simply follow the steps below:

  1. Open the app and scroll down on the main screen until you reach the Book Collections section.
  2. Tap on View all collections.
  3. Tap on the + sign in the top right corner.
  4. Name your new reading list as you wish and tap on Create Book Collection and it will be added to the list of collections.
  5. To start adding books to the list, you will need to tap on it on the screen of book collections.
  6. Tap on Add Book and you will be taken to a Search menu where you can type the name of the book or author you want to add.
  7. Tap on the book and it will be automatically added to your newly created reading list.

Ready to take your reading game to the next level?
Try Basmo book tracker today!

It’s 100% free to download, so what have you got to lose?

Download on the App Store
Get it on Google Play

Motivating you to keep reading to reach your goals

On top of all of the above, reading apps can play a crucial role in how motivated and consistent you are in regards to your reading.

Basmo will allow users to set daily or yearly goals and will provide you with comprehensive statistics about your reading habits so that you can achieve your goals. Basmo helps you track your progress while you read a book and it can also be used to set a reading schedule that works for you.

With the daily reminders that can be manually set up and customized, you will always be notified about your upcoming scheduled reading sessions so you can make sure you never let a day pass without working towards achieving your reading goals.

Conclusion

While finding your next book to read, especially after finishing an amazing one, can be a challenge, with a good strategy and proper determination, the process can be a lot smoother than you think.

All you need is to find the approach that works for you, a good mindset and the proper tools to help you make the transition between books easier. 

With such amazing tools like Basmo so easily accessible, things have never been so simple.

People vector created by rawpixel.com – www.freepik.com

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *